ANZMAC (the Australian and New Zealand Marketing Academy) was formed in 1998, having evolved from the growing interaction between Australian and New Zealand marketing educators over preceding years. A major impetus for its formation was a recognition of the need to improve marketing research, teaching and practice in the South Pacific and the organisation is modelled on the European Marketing Academy. It welcomes input from Australasian researchers and managers in particular, but also from other parts of the world.

The first large scale Australian and New Zealand Marketing Educators Conference was held at the University of Auckland in December 1996, with a second large conference hosted by Monash University in December 1997. At the Monash Conference attendees provided unanimous support for the formation of ANZMAC and approved a draft constitution.

The first Annual General Meeting was held at the ANZMAC Conference at the University of Otago in December 1998. There were over three hundred members present.  For history accounting purposes, 2018, the 20th AGM of ANZMAC will be the 20th Anniversary of the Academy.

The original design was developed by Clay Bodvinhe. Anzmac Colours were selected to convey cultural and semiotic messages about the national identities of the two countries involved and the subject/industry/practice of marketing.

  • GREEN A – Australian national colour
  • BLACK NZ – New Zealand national colour
  • RED M- Movement and change in marketing
  • BLUE A – Knowledge shared at the conference
  • YELLOW C – Energy and vitality of the conference

After a visual audit of academic journals and conference logos, the initial creative insight for ANZMAC (originally ANZMEC) was a modular grid pattern based on squares and multiples of squares. This modular grid was determined to be an ideal vehicle to represent a developing organisation and its brand identity.

In 2007 the design was refreshed by Mark Dalton, a Wellington-based graphic designer. The design intention was to produce a brand image that had optimum flexibility to respond to ongoing usage and changing requirements. The logo itself was set up to be not only self-contained but also structurally adaptable, ie cast either vertically or horizontally.

ANZMAC Timeline

 1996University of Auckland
 1997Monash University 
 1998University of Otago
 1999University of New South Wales
 2000Griffith University, Gold Coast
 2001Massey University
 2002Deakin University
 2003Ehrenberg-Bass Institute for Marketing Science, University of South Australia
 2004Victoria University of Wellington
 2005University of Western Australia
 2006Queensland University of Technology
 2007University of Otago
 2008University of Western Sydney
 2009Monash University 
 2010University of Canterbury
 2011Edith Cowan University
 2012Ehrenberg-Bass Institute for Marketing Science, University of South Australia

University of Auckland

 2014Griffith University
 2015University of New South Wales
 2016University of Canterbury
 2017RMIT University
 2018University of Adelaide 
 2019Victoria University Wellington

No conference due to COVID-19 pandemic

 2021University of Melbourne
 2022University of Western Australia & Curtin University 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software